RSS

Review: Twilight

16 Jul

I had a lot of fun reading this book.  It reminds me of the Dollanganger series, by V.C. Andrews.  Remember her?  If you don’t, she was the author of Flowers in the Attic, Petals on the Wind, If There Be Thorns, and the other two books in the Dollanganger series.  I read those books very quickly when I was in middle school; today they remain some of my very favorite books.  What reminds me of them in Twilight is that Twilight, like the Dollanganger series, is essentially about a family and the extraordinary problems they face: In Flowers in the Attic, the family is two young children, twins, and two teenagers, who have been locked in the attic of their sadistic grandmother’s mansion.  This family is very close.  Edward Cullen, one of the two main characters of Twilight, is also a member of a very close-knit family.  Without giving things about the book away that I shouldn’t, the Cullen family faces a different sort of problem than the Dollanganger family faces: the Cullen’s have a supernatural problem.

The other main character in Twilight is Bella Swan, a 17-year old who has just relocated to Forks, Washington from Phoenix.  Bella is a pale-skinned brunette, attractive, into literature, and calamity prone.  Her tendency to be calamity prone adds a great deal of much appreciated humor to the book.  There are some very funny parts and lines in the book that have to do with this.

Kudos to author Stephanie Meyer for doing a great job describing Forks, where most of the book is set.  Forks seems like another character in the book, and it’s the perfect place for the story to be set; you’ll have to read the book to know what I mean.  Aside from that, the usually overcast skies, large amount of rain, and abundance of green foliage gave me a new appreciation for Seattle and the part of Washington where Forks is and places with this type of climate.

Getting back to the Dollanganger series, the main thing I liked about it was that I really cared about the good characters in the family I was reading about; I felt like I was back in high school, a good friend of theirs, and that I was right there with them as the journey that is their story unfolded.  I got the same feeling when reading Twilight: I felt like I was back in high school when I was reading it, hanging around at school with my good friends Bella and Edward and the other characters who are their friends in the book, and going over to the Cullens’ house and Bella’s house, where much of the book is set.  Meyer did a great job of creating realistic characters that readers really like and want to root for.

Twilight is also an out-of-the-ordinary love story.  Although the romance between Bella and Edward is out of the ordinary (and you’ll have to read the book to know what I mean), the feelings of anyone who has fallen in love with someone are there.  When I read it I remembered what it was like to fall in love, and what a great gift from God falling in love and finding a spouse is.  One more thing about about Twilight: it becomes a suspenseful thriller toward the end, and it has the perfect cliffhanger ending.  After I finished reading it I couldn’t wait to dive into the next book to see what happens.  And Meyer deserves much thanks for giving us not just a sequel to Twilight, but three more installments of the Twilight saga after Twilight!  Is Twilight “the best book ever,” as it was voted on the website Goodreads by readers?  I won’t say it’s the best book ever, but I do place it at least in the top ten in the best books I’ve ever read.

Rating: 5 (out of 5 stars)

 
2 Comments

Posted by on July 16, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Review: Twilight

  1. lindseysurratt

    July 16, 2013 at 3:22 pm

    Great review!

     

Leave a Reply

 
